Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Omstarts

Joke at work about hanging... did I overstep the mark here?

Ok. A tad long-winded, but here goes....

I am an engineer. On Monday, I met with an Architect and some contractors on site. We were doing an external lighting demonstration on a massive public building being constructed. It is due to open in April, however, the opening date is in jeopardy.

During the demonstration, the Architect joked "When the community realise we won't open in time, they will lynch me and hang me outside this building!!"

Quick as a flash, I quipped:

"Well, you have some wonderful accented lighting outside the building - it will show off your best features."

All laughed, including the architect. The contractor especially laughed very hard - this could explain his late payment this week.

Now, no repercussions, but it has been niggling me. My question is, should I apologise for the remark, or would I simply draw more attention to it by bringing it up now? As he made the initial joke about hanging, was I wrong to follow it up, or am I worrying about nothing?
    Ello Guv'na - he is a Sikh.... but then the community 'lynching him' are a Sikh community as well.....
    Flossy:- The architect certifies the contractor's valuations and decides if they are fair, hence if they get paid.

jrah86
    He brought it up. Don't stress about it.

Ello Guvna
    no it was funny, you over think things too much

as long as the guy who was going to get lynched wasnt black, otherwise you'll get the sack

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Your being paranoid you have absolutley nothing to worry about.
    They laughed didn't they? Its just banter and they've probably forgotten all about it by now.