Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

Isolation and loneliness at work

HI, Newbie here, so not sure where this should go... I have been moved from a populated area at work to a desk far removed and by myself. I have been at this job going on two years, off to a bad start until last summer. People at work avoid me, don't acknowledge my presence and seem to look at me as if I had some horrible contagious disease. I am bipolar and think perhaps I'm reading too much into this, but even at the holiday party and other office functions co-workers make small talk and then leave me standing pretty quickly after that. I'm a nice person and don't understand what I might be projecting to them. There is a great age difference: I'm 49 and the rest are younger (most in their 20's), even my boss. I don't look my age but that really shouldn't matter. It's very hard for me to socialize when I know that rejection is around the corner. The net result is that I virtually have no friends at work that I would hang out with...I'm lonely and isolated and I have heard people whispering about me saying that "nobody talks to him". People talk to me when I address them, but it's never reciprocated. I just don't understand why. Any insight or advice? I like my job and don't consider quitting. Am I being overly sensitive?

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads