Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
    Newbie - NLP

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

2001 toyota camry DYI oil change help?

I have a 2001 toyota camry Le 4cyl and I'm tired of taking to the local shop and have them pour in some oil that I never heard of and refill with 2 quart of unknown oil (not sure if this is adequate amount). I'm a novice at car stuff so I would appreciate any pointers.

I'm thinking of buying the following oil extractor and oil filter :
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Toyota-Oil-Filter-90915-YZZD3-/320660733480?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories &vxp=mtr&hash=item4aa8de7e28#ht_500wt_1054

http://www.skymall.com/shopping/detail.htm?pid=102716746

I'm not sure how many 5w30 quarts I need to refill after I extract all the oil from the car, and if the oil filter in the link above is the correct one to use? Any recommendation on what brand oil to use (best place to purchase for good deals) and steps on completing my first DYI oil change would be much appreciated.
    I also notice where there are places that offer $25-30 oil change, I'm not sure on oil prices but its relative ly 7-10 a quart so refilling 4 quart is quite expensive isn't it? Is there a cheaper deal on brand with good performance? Thank you for you're help thus far!

Unregistered