Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Anne

I need help making a decision! New car or 6 month backpacking trip?

My parents offered me the choice. A new car or enough money to backpack through europe.

I really want to do the backpacking, but I don't want to have to take off of school for it.

I am a full time college student and would have to take the time off to travel (obviously).

If I were to get the car, I would finish school, start working as an RN and travel on my own later one (several years from now).

I have a car that works well now (but is a cheap "first car" junker-although I love it) and I REALLY want to travel.

What would you do?
    Most people are telling me to do the backpacking thing, but I really want to get through school and get it over with.

Please help!
    Thank you to everyone who answered.

*Just want to clarify-I do not come from money, my parents are recieving money from a lawsuit and want to reward me for excelling in school. The chance to be handed that amount of money at once won't really happen again, so I think that I will travel.

I haven't researched anything yet, so thank you for the helpful information. I do want to backpack through some of Asia, India and Egypt, so who knows what I'll end up doing after I research everything.

I am incrediablly grateful to my parents to be giving me this opportunity and know I am blessed. I am not a spoiled "rich kid" and have had to work very hard to be where I'm at now.

Thank you again.

christina h