Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    59king

Questions about splitting..

Hey all

Im a noob here, so please have some patience,

I have been a long time bev user, mainly operating 1 tv. I have just purchased a home in which there is a suite in the basement, and I want to run a second reciever (rent it) and off it as one of the amenities included in renting.

Shaw cable was exitsing in the building, so I want to use the exiting outlets in the walls because that will be much easier. Now, heres my plan.

From the dish, install a splitter where all the other cables some in, and then from the wall mounted outlet, hook to a receiver, and so on.

Should this work?

Thx in advance.

landrover

As mentioned in an earlier post you need a switch not a splitter.

Yes, any SW34 switch will do that whether it is a Z***** or not. An SW34 will carry both sat and cable signal to each receiver. I'm not sure if you should quote brand names or not. If Z***** switches is not an advertiser on this site then I don't think then we are suppose to mention that brand but I'm sure a moderator can clarify.

An SW34 switch (any brand) with 2 inputs from the LNB will distribute a satellite signal to upto 4 receivers. If input into the switch, it can also distribute a cable/antenna signal.

An SW24 switch (any brand) with 2 inputs from the LNB will only distribute satellite signal to upto 4 receivers.

The LNB is at the end of the arm on your dish, the coax wire(s), normally RG6, run from the LNB into your receiver unless you add a switch, such as you are suggesting, between the dish and multiple receivers.

Yes, if you are going to run a switch then you must run 2 cables from the LNB to the switch in order to run 3 or more receivers.