Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

Need opinions - want an 1098

Hello everyone!

I've joined this forum mainly to ask the following questions, so I hope I'll get some help from you guys and go from there.

I'm currently in the market to purchase a new motorcycle, I've been riding for over 10 years, and my current motorcycle is a 2004 R1. I enjoy the time I've spent on my R1; however I made a promise that my next bike would be something different and more unique. Since I've never ridden v-twins before unless they were guest rides on friend

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

Take a look at this article. Ducati is advertising 50% less maintenace on the 1098 but some dealers are clinging to the old ways.

http://www.bikeland.org/board/viewthread.php?FID=32&TID=30661&set_time

In terms of reliability, I think some of the early 1098 had stalling problems but I don't hear too much complaints about it now. My 1098 is my 4th Ducati and I had no problems with any of them. Also had an '04 R1 too.

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

I never owned a "Superbike". I bought a Tricolore and never have regretted it. It has had it's teething problems like any new bike and my relationship with it has been one of love/hate. But I wouldn't part with it for the world. I still just stand there and look at it just for the sheer beauty and flow of it's lines. The performance is well beyond my capabilities as well. Should you buy one? If you have to ask then I suggest you don't. When you feel you've gotta' have a 1098 and nothing else will do then buy one.

Status
    Downloads
    Uploads

So how was the switch from the R1 to the 1098?

Its nice to hear the advertising says 50% less maintnance, interesting to say the least.