Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    optimistica1

BIG gift for an avid golfer?

My father golfs just about every other day of his life. He lives in a country club on the 16th hole. Buying him a 'round of golf' isn't an option.
    It's his 50th birthday and I'd like to get him a really nice gift, but I can't afford to actually send him away. I'm a college student so I can only afford like $200 on the gift.
    Any ideas?
    I was thinking of a Range Finder if he doesn't have one, so also...if anyone knows of a good one?

thanks!

Scott B
    A range finder is a good idea. For $200 I think you can get the laser kind. Those are the point and shoot type, not the download course info/GPS type.

For $200 you can also buy him a top of the line pair of golf shoes. That's what I would get him. You can get really nice, really comfortable shoes for under $200 and he will wear them every time he plays.

I would siggest not buying him a club of any kind. !st, he already has clubs and 2nd you don't know what he likes or needs. I would much rather buy my own clubs or go with somebody buying me clubs. SO in this case that wouldn't be much fun.

I think golf shoes are a great gift. Top of the line golf shoes are something a lot of people don't want to spend $200 on, but they are so nice and comfy when you have them. You just feel better at the end of the day.

Mel O
    A great topline putter is good also. Especially if you've heard him talking about something. A Cameron or a Ping Redwood, something like that.

Robsdaddy
    A Gore-Tex rainsuit is about $100. or so. You could combine that with a couple dozen golf balls and a polo shirt for a nice $200. golf gift package. Good luck.

K.R.