Welcome to Discuss Everything Forums...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Tags for this Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    underpar

Bell Expressvu and Transponder 11- Newbie

Hi:
    I am new at this satellite game so please forgive a simple question. My Bell Expressvu system works just fine. My question relates to

Exvu.Tech.Mtl

Transponders will always change depending on the channel you are one, Channels 198 usually is transponder 6. Get transponder 13 on menu 6-1-1 as high as you can. Transponder 6 will always be low, around 70 to 80 %.

oksat

Transponders are like tranmitters on the satellite. Each transponder (tp) has a certain amount of channels. Some transponders have a stronger signal than others. Some transponders are broken (dead). If you want all the channels you suscribe to, you need all the transponders. If there was a way to "lock" to tp 6 only, you would find that you have very few channels for what you pay for

Nimiq 1

One of the reasons for the differences in Signal Strength is that when pointing at 91 Degrees you are looking at 2 Satellites, one is much newer than the other and therefore is somewhat stronger.

The main software for downloading onto your receiver is carried on Tp 11, which is why the manual try to get you to peak the signal on that Tp.

Even if you are only pointing at Nimiq 1 @ 91 degrees, I would advice still setting the Skew on the Dish prior to peaking the signal, this way if and when you add a second LNBF you will not have to do much re-aiming......

FYI, my transponder 6 on 91 is at 81%.

underpar